Tags

, , ,

I started this blog in 2012 in response to, and to document, the then-ANF (Vic. branch)’s epic enterprise bargaining dispute. Along the way I discussed other issues of relevance to unions, to the advancement of equity and social justice, and related current events, with the intent of explaining some of the underlying concepts, the elements that unite seemingly-disparate events and causes, and to inform laypeople about the less visible sides of a profession I love. In that spirit, and in keeping with those ideals, I’m going to once again focus for a time on one key issue – voluntary assisted dying.

I explained in a recent post why I support the upcoming Victorian legislation regarding voluntary assisted dying. As this will be facing parliament in the next two months, because I believe in the need for it, and because I’m now actively working to represent the needs and concerns of both nurses and our patients regarding this issue, I’ll be writing a weekly blog until the end of September summarizing the work various organisations, including Dying with Dignity Victoria, and Stop Victorians Suffering (the Victorian wing of Go Gentle Australia) have done. This will include embedded videos, links to articles, podcasts, and suggestions to readers who want to participate. I am also happy to respond to questions, should they arise – with the proviso that I expect mutual respect despite differing positions.

As much as possible, these weekly updates will also have a unifying theme (unwrapping the legislation, safeguards, the nature of suffering, for example). The following post is about the ethics of end-of-life issues, including assisted dying.

